• Cart (0)
  • Login
  • News
  • Chapters
  • Contact Us
  • Help


The Board of Governors

The affairs of SSPC are managed by a Board of Governors composed of thirteen (13) elected members, plus a non-voting Secretary and Treasurer, and ex-officio members.

The composition of the Board is based on the demographics of the organization, as follows:

  • 3 members elected from individuals representing Facility Owners (individuals who are employed by public or private sector owners of assets who are responsible for the maintenance of coatings of heavy or light industrial structures and surfaces).
  • 2 members elected from individuals representing Coating Material Suppliers (individuals who own, are employed by, or represent firms that manufacture or distribute coatings, linings and or the raw materials used to manufacture these products).
  • 3 members elected from individuals representing Other Product Suppliers (individuals who own, are employed by, or represent firms that manufacture or distribute equipment, abrasive or peripheral products for use in the protective coatings industry).
  • 3 members elected from individuals representing Coating Contractors (individuals who own or are employed by contracting firms specializing in the removal or application of coatings and linings, either in the field or shop).
  • 1 member elected from individuals representing Other Service Providers (individuals who own, are employed by, or represent firms who provide services such as engineering and consulting, that support the protective coatings industry).
  • 1 member shall be elected from the international membership. An international delegate shall be from any demographic. An International delegate can be from any country outside North America.

Current Board Members

Effective July 1, 2014 - June 30, 2015

Officers Board Members

James R. King, Jr. 
John B. Conomos, Inc.
P.O. Box 279
Bridgeville, PA 15017
TEL: (412) 221-1800
FAX: (412) 221-4641
Email: James R. King
Web: www.conomos.com

L. Skip Vernon
Coating & Lining Technologies, Inc.
P.O. Box 639
Tijeras, NM 87059
TEL: (505) 281-3907
FAX: (505) 286-4191
Email: L. Skip Vernon

Gunnar Ackx
Vice President
Managing Director/Senior Coating Consultant
SCICON Worldwide bvba
St-Sebastiaanstraat 20
8200 Brugge, Belgium
TEL: +32 (0)50 68 70 51
FAX: +32 (0)50 68 70 52
Email: Gunnar Ackx
Web: www.sciconworldwide.com

Benjamin S. Fultz
Immediate-Past President
Chief Materials Engineering Technology 
Bechtel Corporation
P O Box 2166
Houston, TX 77252
TEL: (713) 235-3620
FAX: (713) 235-2030
Email: Benjamin Fultz
Web: www.bechtel.com

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Ex-Officio Board Member

Bob McMurdy
Chief Executive Officer 
Mohawk Garnet, Inc.
808 Highway 17 East
Wahnapitae ON P0M 3C0
TEL: (705) 694-5783
FAX: (705) 694-5575
Email: Bob McMurdy
Web: www.mohawkgarnet.com

Ex-Officio Board Officers

William Shoup - SSPC Staff/Secretary
Executive Director
SSPC: The Society for Protective Coatings
Email: shoup@sspc.org

Barbara B. Fisher - SSPC Staff/Treasurer
SSPC: The Society for Protective Coatings
Email: fisher@sspc.org

Derrick Castle
Chemical & Corrosion Laboratory Specialist
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
1227 Wilkinson Blvd.
Frankfort, KY 40601
TEL: (502) 564-3160
FAX: (502) 564-7034
Email: Derrick Castle
Web: www.kytc.state.ky.us/

Stephen P. Collins
Global Coatings Coordinator 
Air Products and Chemicals, Inc. 
1230 Pickard Road
Thomaston, GA 30286 
TEL: (678) 296-2247
FAX: (610) 706-5122 
Email: Stephen P. Collins
Web: www.airproducts.com

Jay Kranker
Western Region Sales Manager
P.O. Box 13161
Palm Desert, CA 92255
TEL: (800) 686-8377
Email: Jay Kranker

Garry D. Manous
Senior Project Manager
Atsalis Brothers Painting
24595 Groesbeck Highway
Warren, MI 48089
TEL: (586) 790-0123
FAX: (586) 790-9065
Email: Garry Manous
Web: www.atsalisbros.com

Victor A. Pallotta
Vice President
ARS Recycling Systems, LLC
4000 McCartney Rd. 
Lowellville, OH 44436
TEL: (330) 536-8210
FAX: (330) 536-8211
Email: Victor A. Pallotta
Web: www.arsrecycling.com

Brian Skerry
Global Director - Corrosion Programs
The Sherwin-Williams Company
4440 Warrensville Center Road
Warrensville Heights, OH 44128
TEL: (216) 332-8376
FAX: (216) 332-8374
Email: Brian Skerry
Web: sherwin-williams.com

Marty Stamey
Senior Vice President
Global Business Development
The Brock Group
P.O. Box 306
Beaumont, TX 77704-0306
TEL: (409) 833-6226
FAX: (409) 951-4273
Email: Marty Stamey
Web: www.brockgroup.com

Joseph Walker
Vice President
1893 Rochester Industrial Drive
Rochester Hills, MI 48309
TEL: (248) 650-0500
FAX: (248) 650-0501
Email: Joseph Walker 
Web: www.elcometer.com

Gail A. Warner
Material Process Engineer
Huntington Ingalls Industries - Newport News Shipbuilding
4101 Washington Avenue, Bldg. 902-2
Newport News, VA 23607
TEL: 757-380-2347
FAX: 757-380-4422
Email: Gail Warner
Web: www.huntingtoningalls.com



SSPC's day-to-day operations are run by five directors who oversee different parts of the organization. The Executive Director is the head of the organization with the other four directors reporting to that position.