• Home
  • News - 2018 - Scholarships Awarded

Press Releases


SSPC Awards 15 College Scholarships

July 1, 2018

SSPC is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 - 19 scholarship awards:

  • Anna Arato, Emory University
  • Karan Bansal, North Dakota State University
  • Brendan Beshock, University of Pittsburgh
  • Stephanie Brand, University of Ilinois
  • Jessica Davison, University of Southern Mississippi
  • Saiada Fancy, Florida International University
  • Karim Garcia, Rhodes College
  • Michael Gatz, Michigan State University
  • Kinley Gipson, Lamar University
  • Kevin Karras, University of Wisconsin - Madison
  • Abby Longhofer, Florida State University
  • Mya Poulos, Indiana University Bloomington
  • Margaret Schiffer, West Virginia University
  • Weixiu Zeng, University of Akron
  • Cheng Zhang, University of Akron

Each recipient has been awarded $2,500 in recognition of their impressive academic work.

In order to be considered for the SSPC scholarship, candidates must be a high school senior planning to enroll full-time or a student already enrolled full-time in an accredited institution of higher learning that has a three or four-year curriculum. They also must be a member of SSPC in good standing, or a child or grandchild of an SSPC member in good standing.

Awarded scholarship funds shall be applied to the direct costs of the student’s education courses. To coordinate the effort, SSPC will work with the institution’s financial aid office to ensure proper use of the funds.

In addition to the scholarship, each student is awarded a one-year membership in SSPC.

The scholarship application opens in January of each year, with applications due by April 30th. The 2019 - 2020 application will open early January of 2019.