Training & Certification

Training Home


Protective Coatings Inspector Program (PCI) Level 3

Level 3 Certification Exam Only:
2 Hours (Includes certification exam)
Cost: SSPC Member $500/Non-Member $700
Certification Term:
4 Years
Yes. Click here for prerequisites

Written Exam Retake Fee: $100 member; $200 non-member

To contact SSPC or to schedule a retake exam, please click here.

PCI Program Levels

How to Register:

Register for the Level 3 Exam Only

Click here to find a course & register online for Level 1, 2, 3


Click here for prerequisites for the PCI Program.

PCI Certification Term and Renewal

Click Here for the PCI Level 3 Certification Term and Renewal

Renew Your PCI Level 3 Certification:

Click here to purchase your renewal online

About the PCI Level 3 Certification Program

The Protective Coatings Inspector Level 3 Certification Program identifies and awards recognition to individuals who have in-depth knowledge in the principles and practices of inspection of industrial coatings. The PCI Level 3 Certification attests to the professional credibility of the coatings inspector and raises the standard of inspection in the protective coatings industry.

PCI Level 3 Certification demonstrates mastery in:

  • Recognizing the common duties, responsibilities, and the role of an industrial coatings inspector
  • Recognizing the role of the coating manufacturer on a coatings project
  • Describing the authority of a coatings inspector
  • Explaining the importance of thorough documentation
  • Identifying the differences between quality assurance and quality control and the common duties of quality assurance and quality control personnel
  • Describing the purpose and content of a pre-job or preconstruction conference
  • Explaining the importance of ethics of inspection personnel
  • Describing methods used to evaluate coating performance prior to full-scale installation
  • Describing the unique aspects of performing coatings inspection on an overcoating project, and on projects employing thermal spray coatings, powder coatings and duplex coating systems
  • Describing how coatings inspection can help prevent premature coating failure
  • Listing potential safety hazards associated with coatings inspection
  • Preparing an inspection plan/procedure
  • Performing coatings inspection on industrial projects
  • Comparing inspection results to specification requirements

Exam Format

Students passing the PCI Level 2 Exams at 80% or higher and meeting the prerequisites for PCI Level 3 Certification can take the PCI Level 3 certification exams on Day 7. A passing grade of 80% or higher on the written PCI Level 3 certification exam is required to become an SSPC PCI Level 3 Certified Coating Inspector.

The PCI Level 3 exam consists of:
Each candidate selects five essay questions to answer. Each essay is worth 20 points.



For more information contact