2019 SSPC Board of Governors Election Results and Updates – SSPC
Back to News


June 4, 2019

SSPC: The Society for Protective Coatings is pleased to announce the results of the 2019 Board of Governors election. There were four open positions in this year’s election with a total of 16 candidates on the ballot.

Winning candidates and positions include:

International Representative
Juan Caballero, MCI, PCS
Owner, Principal Coatings Consultant & Inspector
Naval & Industrial Solutions

Other Service Provider
Alison B. Kaelin
ABKaelin, LLC

Coating Material Suppliers
Ahren Olson, PCS
Marketing Manager – Protective Coatings
Covestro LLC

W. Doni Riddle
Sr. Vice President of Sales
The Sherwin-Williams Company

Mr. Caballero, who spent the past year as an ex-officio member of the board, will serve his first term as an officially elected voting member. Ms. Kaelin is newly elected and will serve her first term. Mr. Olson was re-elected for a second term after spending the past four years on the board. Mr. Riddle will serve a second stint on the board after having previously served from 2003 – 2011. Their terms will begin on July 1, 2019 and end on June 30, 2023.

Leaving the board this year are Gunnar Ackx of SCICON Worldwide bvba and Brian Skerry of The Sherwin-Williams Company. The term of Skip Vernon of CLT, Inc. has ended, however he has been appointed to fill an ex-officio spot to assist SSPC in the ongoing talks with NACE.

In other recent board news, Sam Scaturro of Alpine Painting & Sandblasting Contractors was elected to the Vice President position at the board meeting in January. He will assume that position on July 1, 2019 when the officer rotation changes. At that time, current board President Garry Manous of Atsalis Brothers Painting will become Immediate Past President, Joe Walker of Elcometer, Inc. will become President, and Joyce Wright of Huntington Ingalls Industries – Newport News Shipbuilding will become President-Elect.

In addition to Mr. Vernon being named to an ex-officio position, other adjustments to ex-officio member terms include the extension of Jim King of John B. Conomos, Inc. and the departure of Kristin Leonard of ExxonMobil Research & Engineering. Ex-officio terms run in one-year increments.